Tags

, , , ,

Baked Rosemary Lemon Chicken

Make this chicken for your man and he will be very happy. Seriously. I served this to my boyfriend on Tuesday night. He graciously showered my cooking with compliments for the duration of the meal with plenty of mmmm mmm mmms, and I think I heard it from him again the following night when we finished the leftovers. I made drumsticks because he prefers dark meat chicken, but you could use whatever kind of chicken you fancy. Maybe even use a whole chicken, that’s something I’ve never done. When I do it will be awesome. I will put everything delicious into it and bake it until its perfectly golden and moist. Is it just me or is baking a whole chicken usually done by the woman of the house? True or not, that is why I’ve never made one before. SO, I always get really confused with baking time for chicken. Some people cook their chicken for an hour and a half, others 45 minutes, and some recipes call for only 20 minutes. I have always been warned that eating under cooked chicken is a no-no, so baking it makes me nervous every time. For 5 chicken legs, I cooked it at 400 for 30 minutes, then at 350 for 25 minutes, then I broiled it for 5 minutes. Which equals an hour total, which puts me right in the middle of the wide chicken cooking time range, and it turned out perfectly. 20130726-143907.jpg

Ingredients:

5-6 chicken legs
1/4 cup lemon juice
tbsp salt
tsp lemon pepper
tsp garlic powder
tsp onion powder
tbsp butter
5-6 sprigs of rosemary kept intact

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 F degrees and pull out a baking dish for the chicken
  2. Wash and dry chicken legs (I pulled the skin off of 2 because I don’t like it) and place them into the baking sheet, side by side
  3. Generously sprinkle salt over chicken, followed by lemon pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder (this was a perfect combination for me, but feel free to experiment if you have any other favorite spices you’d like to incorporate)
  4. Pour lemon juice over the chicken, making sure each one gets a good washing of it before it settles onto the bottom of the pan
  5. Top each leg with a little dab of butter (in total I used a little less than a tablespoon split among the legs)
  6. Finally, lay the rosemary over the chicken and put into oven for 30 minutes.
  7. After 30 minutes, lower heat to 350 and cook for 10-30 more minutes, depending on how much chicken you used.
  8. If its not golden brown enough, put your oven on broil for 3-5 minutes at the end. When you slice into the chicken and the juices are running clear, it is ready to serve.

I served mine with a lemon arugula salad and some whole wheat penne pasta with a Parmesan sauce, but I think next time I’ll make a really light white wine cream sauce or a rice pilaf.

